Whangarei District Council bylaws are local laws made by Council that apply only in our District. They are made to keep our place safe, healthy and attractive.

Bylaws are enforceable by Council staff or other nominated agencies. 

16 Result(s) Found

This bylaw regulates and manages camping on land controlled and managed by Whangarei District Council.

Following the public consultation in 2020, Council amended the Camping in Public Places Bylaw. The amended version of the Bylaw will come into force on 1 October 2021. The amended Bylaw and associated maps can be viewed below.

This bylaw is about the public places in the District that Council owns or manages.  It is in place to:

  • protect the public from nuisance
  • support public health and safety and
  • minimise the potential for offensive behaviour.

It includes restrictions on horses in public places.

The bylaw also controls any trading and event activities in public places in the District, including in the central business district and the Town Basin.

Council adopted an amendment to clause 19 of the Public Places Bylaw in relation to ‘Structures and Living Accommodation in Public Places’. The amendment came into force on 26 February 2021. 

Page 1 of 2


In most cases, Council makes bylaws under the Local Government Act 2002.

Local Government Act 2002