NOTICE OF DAY OF ELECTION FOR THE 2022 ELECTIONS OF WHANGAREI DISTRICT COUNCIL





Nominations received

Notice is given under section 65 of the Local Electoral Act 2001 that the following persons have been duly nominated as candidates for:

Mayor (one vacancy)

Last Name	First Name	Affiliation
BUDD	Mike	Independent
COCURULLO	Vince	
COUPER	Ken	
FLOWER	Brad	Independent
GREEN	Fiona	
JACOB	Nick	Independent
SHORTLAND	Shaquille	

COUNCIL

Bream Bay General Ward (two vacancies)

Last Name	First Name	Affiliation
BEAN	Steve	Independent
COUPER	Ken	
HALSE	Phil	
SHIRKEY	Shilane	

Hikurangi-Coastal General Ward (two vacancies)

Last Name	First Name	Affiliation
BENNEY	Gavin	
FLOWER	Brad	Independent
JEEVES	Greg	Independent
MARTIN	Greg	
MCKENZIE	Scott	
THOMASSON	Tracey	

Mangakahia-Maungatapere General Ward (one vacancy)

Last Name	First Name	Affiliation
REID	Simon John	Independent
ROBERTSON	Iain James	

Whangarei Heads General Ward (one vacancy)

Last Name	First Name	Affiliation
BLACKLEY	David	Independent
HOLMES	Patrick	Independent

Whangarei District Maori Ward (two vacancies)

	<u>, </u>	
Last Name	First Name	Affiliation
HARDING	Deb	
НОРА	Pauline	
MITCHELL	Simon	
RUKA	Phoenix	Te Pāti Māori
TANA	Zhairn Zee	
WAKEFIELD	Nicki	

Whangarei Urban General Ward (five vacancies)

Last Name	First Name	Affiliation
BROWN	Alan	Independent
CHRISTIE	Crichton	
COCURULLO	Vince	
CONNOP	Nicholas Hunter	
DOHERTY	Paul	
GALLAGHER	Graeme	
GOLIGHTLY	Jayne	Independent
GREEN	Fiona	
HASKELL	Ren	
MCMILLAN	Glen	Independent
OLSEN	Marie	Independent
PETERS	Carol	
SAMU	Isopo	
SHORTLAND	Shaquille	
TITFORD	Jesse	
WINDLEBORN	Hazely	
WOOD	Stephen	
YOUNG	Adam	Independent
YOVICH	Paul	

As there are (for each office) more candidates than there are vacancies to be filled, an election will be held between the listed candidates on Saturday 8 October 2022, under the First Past the Post electoral system, by postal vote.

ORDER OF CANDIDATE NAMES

The Whangarei District Council has resolved under regulation 31 of the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 to adopt the alphabetical order of candidate names to appear on the voting documents.

ISSUING OF VOTING DOCUMENTS

Voting documents will be posted to electors from Friday, 16 September 2022.

RETURN OF VOTING DOCUMENTS

Voting documents must be returned not later than noon, Saturday, 8 October 2022 to the electoral officer.

Voting documents can be returned by post or hand delivered at the following council offices between Friday, 16 September 2022 and Friday, 7 October 2022 during normal office hours, and Saturday,

- 8 October 2022 between 9am noon:
- Whangārei District Council, Forum North, Rust Avenue, Whangārei
- Whangārei District Council Service Centre, 9 Takutai Place, Ruakākā

SPECIAL VOTING

Special voting in terms of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 may be exercised at the above council offices and times.

A person can apply to enrol as either a residential or ratepayer elector right up to and including Friday, 7 October 2022 – the day before the close of voting.

Dale Ofsoske, Electoral Officer Whangārei District Council Forum North, Rust Avenue, Whangārei 17 August 2022