Representation Review 2021

Appeals and objections period closes at 5:00pm on Monday, 11 October 2021.

Representation Review page image.

We are reviewing how Whangarei District Council represents our communities to ensure we're providing fair and effective representation for our communities.

On 24 June 2021, Whangarei District Council adopted an Initial Proposal for representation arrangements and consulted with communities on this proposal from 30 June to 30 July 2021.

The Representation Review 2021 Initial Proposal booklet contains information on the Initial Proposal and the Representation Review process.

Representation Review Initial Proposal(PDF, 4MB)

Council considered submissions on the Initial Proposal.

On 7 September 2021, Council adopted a Final Proposal for representation arrangements for the 2022 triennial local government elections.

Final proposal

After considering submissions received to the Initial Proposal, Council is recommending the following representation for our District:

  • 12 councillors in total:
    • 10 general ward councillors elected by one district-wide ward
    • Two Māori ward councillors elected by one district-wide ward
    • plus the Mayor elected at large
  • That we do not establish community boards.

We are proposing two wards in total:

  • One general ward
    • Whangārei District General Ward (10 councillors)
  • One Māori ward
    • Whangārei District Māori Ward (2 councillors)

This proposal is a significant change to what we currently have and what was proposed in the Initial Proposal.

Currently, we elect our councillors by wards.

You can view a copy of the Public Notice of the Final Proposal.

Public Notice for Final Proposal(PDF, 48KB)

Current representation

Below is a list of current wards and the councillor representation:

City wards

  • Denby: 3 councillors
  • Okara: 4 councillors

Rural wards

  • Managakahia-Maungatapere: 1 councillor
  • Hikurangi-Coastal: 2 councillors
  • Bream Bay: 2 councillors
  • Whangārei Heads: 1 councillor

The Initial Proposal also proposed representation by wards, with a few boundary alterations to comply with the statutory requirements for fair representation.

  

Appeals and objections

If you do not agree with the proposal, you can now lodge an appeal or objection.

How can I object or appeal?

The appeal and objection period for Council’s Representation Review 2021 Final Proposal starts on Friday 10 September 2021 and ends at 5:00pm on Monday 11 October 2021.

Online

Complete the online form:

Appeals / Objections online form

By email

Step 1: Complete the appeals or objections form.

Appeals and objection application form(PDF, 232KB)

Step 2: Email us

Attach the form to an email and send to:

mailroom@wdc.govt.nz

By post

Step 1: Complete the appeals or objections form.

Appeals and objection application form(PDF, 232KB)

Step 2: Post to us

Send in a sealed envelope to:

Whangarei District Council
Private Bag 9023
Whangārei 0148

In-person

Hard copy appeal / objection forms can be obtained from our Customer Service Centres from Monday 13 September 2021.

Step 1: Complete the appeals or objections form.

Appeals and objection application form(PDF, 232KB)

Step 2: Bring in the completed submission form to one of our service centres:

Forum North customer service centre
7 Rust Avenue, Whangārei
Monday to Friday - 8:00am to 4:30pm
Closed public holidays

Ruakākā service centre 
9 Takutai Place, Ruakākā
Monday to Friday - 8:30am to 4:00pm
Closed public holidays


Should I appeal or object?

An appeal may be made by a person or organisation who submitted on the Initial Proposal about matters related to their original submission.

An objection may be lodged by any person or organisation on issues where the Final Proposal differs from the Initial Proposal.

Your objection must identify the matters which your objection relates to.

What happens after I appeal or object?

Council will receive appeals and objections and send them to the Local Government Commission along with:

  • the Final Proposal
  • the Initial Proposal resolution of 24 June 2021 (including the Initial proposal)
  • the June 2021 public notice
  • submissions received on the Initial Proposal
  • other related information.

The Local Government Commission will consider the Appeals, Objections and other information provided and will decide the representation arrangements for the Whangarei District for at least the 2022 triennial local government elections.

When considering appeals or objections against the Final Proposal, the Local Government Commission has the option of either making a decision based on the information provided or holding a hearing, at which those involved can present their views.

The Local Government Commission decision takes into account:

  • the appeals / objections
  • submissions to Council’s Initial Proposal
  • information gained through further enquiries the Local Government Commission considers appropriate.

The Local Government Commission will amend any parts of the Final Proposal that it decides does not comply with the statutory provisions, whether or not that element of the proposal was the subject of an appeal or objection.

The Local Government Commission’s decision can only be appealed on a point of law in accordance with schedule 5 of the LGA 2002, or subject to judicial review.

The Local Government Commission has until 11 April 2022 to make its decision. The decision will take effect for at least the 2022 triennial local government election.

Representation review overview

What is a representation review?

He ata te arotake whakaahuatanga?

Every three years elections are held for councils.

To make sure we have fair and effective representation at these elections, councils are required by the Local Electoral Act 2001 to review their representation arrangements at least once every six years.

A representation review looks at how many councillors there should be for our District and how they should be elected - deciding whether councillors are elected from wards or ‘at large’ across the whole district, or by a mix of both.

It also looks at the boundaries and names of wards, whether or not we should have community boards, and what community you identify with – whether it’s geographical, historical, or something else altogether.

From 7 April 2021, people in Whangārei District have had a fresh chance to help decide how many elected members there are, how they’re elected, and what communities they represent.

Why are we holding a representation review?

He aha e whakahaere ai mātou i te arotake whakaahuatanga?

Our Council held a representation review in 2018, but as Whangarei District Council has voted in favour of establishing Māori wards, it triggered the need for another representation review in 2021.

During this review, Whangarei District Council considered three key factors:

  • What are our District’s communities of interest?
  • How can those communities be effectively represented?
  • How can those communities be fairly represented?