Your Council
Navigate Up
Sign In

2016 Election Results

Image for Local Elections page.
This page contains the results of the 2016 local body election for Whangarei District Council.
Updated: 13/08/2019 9:39 a.m.

​Elections for all local councils in New Zealand are held every three years. The elections are conducted under the Local Electoral Act 2001, the Local Electoral Regulations 2001 and the Local Government Act 2002.

2016 Elections

The table below contains the final election results for the Mayor and wards for Whangarei District Council.


​Name ​Affiliation ​Votes received ​Rank
BELL, Stuart ​None 3,034
​BLACKLEY, David ​Go-Whangarei ​5,128
BRITTENDEN, Kay Elizabeth ​Independent 919
HOLWELL, Ash Together Tahi 950
KEENE, Matt ​Together Tahi 931
​MAI, Sheryl ​None 14,486 1
​BLANK 428

Bream Bay Ward (2 Councillors)

​Name ​Affiliation ​Votes received ​Rank
​CAMPBELL, Dean Independent ​996
DEEMING, Shelley None​ 2,306 ​1
HALSE, Phil ​None 1,774 ​2
SLATER, Barry Go-Whangarei 866
WRIGHT, Reuben ​Go-Whangarei ​1,164
​BLANK 108

Denby Ward (3 Councillors)

​Name ​Affiliation ​Votes received ​Rank
ABBOTT, Geoff ​Go-Whangarei 1,393
CHRISTIE, Crichton Blyth ​None 1,824 ​3
CUTFORTH, Tricia None 2,130 1​
​GOLIGHTLY, Jayne ​Go-Whangarei 1,852 ​2
KEENE, Matt ​Together Tahi 1,570
ROBERTSON, Don ​None 1,199
ROSSITER, Bill ​Go-Whangarei 1,777
TADMAN, Ash Graham ​None 384
WILLIAMSON, John ​None 1,715
​BLANK 128

Hikurangi-Coastal Ward (2 Councillors)

​Name ​Affiliation ​Votes received ​Rank
​BRETHERTON, Susy Go-Whangarei 1,068
​CARPENTER, Robert ​Tu Kotahi 289
MARTIN, Greg ​Independent 1,667 ​2
MURPHY, Anna None​ 1,686 ​1
​PETERS, Ian None 1,181
​ROBERTS, Stuart Go-Whangarei 524
WRIGHT, Alex ​Independent 753

Maungatapere / Mangakahia Ward (1 Councillor)

​Name ​Affiliation ​Votes received ​Rank
MORGAN, Sharon None ​1,209 1​
REID, Simon ​Go-Whangarei ​694
TIPENE, Puti Violet​ ​None ​201
​BLANK ​60

Okara Ward (4 Councillors)

​Name ​Affiliation ​Votes received ​Rank
BELL, Stuart None 1,904 ​4
BRITTENDEN, Kay Elizabeth ​Independent 1,428
CAREY, Chris ​None 612
COCURULLO, Vince ​Go-Whangarei 2,568 ​1
FARRELL, Adam ​Independent 590
GILL, Tony ​None 376
GLEN, Sue ​None 2,259 ​3
HARDING, Deborah None​ 1,130
HERMON, Cherry ​None 2,504 ​2
HOLWELL, Ash Together Tahi 1,830
​LEITCH, Chris Independent 1,850
LEONARD, Wilz ​Go-Whangarei 983
​MAWSON, Brent ​None 1,508
McLACHLAN, Brian ​None 1,832
​McLEOD, Chrissi ​Go-Whangarei 1,323
​SHIPTON, Greg ​None 1,099
​WEAVER, Greg ​None 481
​BLANK 174

Whangarei Heads Ward (1 Councillor)

​Name ​Affiliation ​Votes received ​Rank
BLACKLEY, Dave Go-Whangarei 705
INNES, Greg Independent​ 1,887 ​1
​BLANK 122

Contact details

For further information regarding these elections, please contact the electoral office.
Phone: 0800 922 822
Fax: (09) 307 7443
Write to: The Electoral Officer, Whangarei District Council
c/- Independent Election Services Ltd
P O Box 5135
Wellesley Street
Auckland 1141


Whangarei District Council owns this website and the information, images and photographs in it are subject to copyright. No portion may be copied or republished without prior permission of Whangarei District Council. We have made every reasonable effort to provide accurate and reliable information. The use of any information is at the website visitor’s own risk and discretion.