Navigate Up
Sign In

Te Karearea strategic partnership signed

​After years of relationship building, a strategic relationship agreement has been signed between hapu of the Whangarei Rohe (area) and Whangarei District council.
Updated: 23/06/2014 1:32 p.m.
Image signing of a partnership agreement between Whangarei District Council and Te Huinga.

​Te Karearea partnership takes flight with
the signing of a partnership agreement
between Whangarei District Council and
Te Huinga. Co-chairs Pita Tipene and
Mayor Sheryl Mai sign the agreement at
Tau Henare Marae in Pipiwai.

“Signing the Te Karearea Strategic Partnership agreement will ensure hapu interests are included in all the interests that inform our governance,” said Whangarei Mayor Sheryl Mai.

“Its origins go back many years. In 2012 the Te Karearea Strategic Partnership Forum was formed between Council and Te Huinga, as advocates of hapu of Whangarei. One of the partnership’s first priorities was to establish an agreed terms of reference which has been in place ever since.

“The past 18 months has seen solid development within the partnership, and that has prompted us all (Councillors and Hapu representatives) to agree it was timely to review the terms of reference and to move to a  'strategic relationship agreement' which better reflects our current relationship.

“We have been holding meetings every month, alternating between Council Chambers and marae.  The agreement was signed  at this month’s meeting Tuesday 16 June at Tau Henare Marae in Pipiwai.”

Mayor Mai said the purpose of Te Karearea is to enable the partners to work closely together to achieve the agreed vision ‘He Whenua Rangatira - Whangarei, a district of prosperity, wellbeing and empowered communities’ and mission ‘Ka tutuki te Kawanatanga a-rohe, ka puawai hoki te kotahitanga me ona tini kaupapa - Local Government that works through effective partnership and provides practical solutions’.

The forum provides a platform for high level, strategic discussions that will enable self-determination and self-reliance to flourish. This relationship will build to develop more robust partnership arrangements over time through learning conversations.

He Whakaputanga o Te Rangatiratanga o Nu Tireni (Declaration of Independence – 1835) and Te Tiriti o Waitangi 1840 provide the foundational doctrines of authority and partnership that are being sought after by the hapu of Whangarei as the relationship develops with the Whangarei District Council.

The Te Karearea strategic partnership does not preclude iwi or individual hapu working on matters of their own concern directly with Council.

Te Karearea strategic partnership.

Strategic Partnership members are as follows:

Council representatives appointed to Te Karearea are as follows:
  • HWM Sheryl Mai
  • Deputy Mayor - Cr Morgan
  • Cr Deeming
  • Cr Martin
  • Cr Innes
  • Cr Bell
  • Cr Christie
  • Cr Williamson
With alternates as follows in the event a Councillor on Te Karearea is not able to attend the
  • Cr Halse
  • Cr Bretherton
  • Cr Cutforth
  • Cr Glen
  • Cr Hermon
  • Cr McLachlan

At present there are 16 hapu representatives on Te Huinga. Eight of these members represent hapu on Te Karearea. Each hapu grouping has a lead and an alternate/support person in the event the lead is not available. 

Eight of these sixteen members currently represent Te Huinga and sit on Te Karearea following their hapu consultation processes, which endorsed their representation. They are as follows: 

  • Pita Tipene and Pita Cherrington
    (Te Orewai and Ngati Hine)
  • Merepeka Henley and Te Warihi Hetaraka   (Nga Hapu o Whangaruru)
  • Deborah Harding and Jared Pitman(Patuharakeke)
  • Allan Halliday and Mike Kake
    (Ngati Hau)
  • Dick Shepherd and Huhana Seve
    (Ngati Kahu o Torongare)
  • Taipari Munro and Hona Edwards
    (Te Parawhau and Te Uriroroi)
  • Pereri Mahanga and Aperahama Edwards (Te Waiariki, Ngati Korora, Ngati Takapari)
  • Kaile Nahi-Taihia and Anaru Kaipo
    (Nga Hapu o Mangakahia)

Te Huinga

Te Huinga has been established by Whangarei hapu to advocate the voices of more than 120 hapu (sub tribes) in the Whangarei rohe (area).  The hapu have gathered into eight clusters, and 16 people have been mandated by the hapu as representatives of the hapu clusters.

Eight of the Te Huinga members have also been appointed to Te Karearea Strategic Partnership, a partnership between Te Huinga and Council, following a hapu consultation processes which endorsed their representation.

The hapu representatives are mandated to represent the over-riding concerns of Hapu at a policy-making, strategic level at Whangarei District Council, through a partnership forum that meets at least monthly, called Te Karearea.   



Whangarei District Council owns this website and the information, images and photographs in it are subject to copyright. No portion may be copied or republished without prior permission of Whangarei District Council. We have made every reasonable effort to provide accurate and reliable information. The use of any information is at the website visitor’s own risk and discretion.