Navigate Up
Sign In

New Zealand Lions Series 2017 taiaha

This page contains information about taiaha and the New Zealand Lions Series 2017.
Updated: 14/09/2016 12:00 a.m.
​Te Hiku

​In less than a year the New Zealand Provincial Barbarians will play The British & Irish Lions in the first game of the DHL New Zealand Lions Series 2017 (NZLS17) in Whangarei.

As part of Series, New Zealand Rugby has commissioned the carving of seven Maori Taiaha for presentation to the winning team in each of the seven games leading up to the All Blacks tests.

The taiaha called Te Hiku (the tail of the great fish of Maui-tikitiki-a-Taranga (North Island) has been presented to Whangarei District Council, and six other named taiaha have been presented to the councils of the other places hosting games;  Auckland, Christchurch, Dunedin, Rotorua, Hamilton and Wellington. Respectively, the games will be against the Blues, the Crusaders, the Highlanders, the Maori All Blacks, the Chiefs, the Hurricanes.

Te Hiku was given into the guardianship of Whangarei District Council at a special ceremony of Hapu leaders, councillors and representatives of NZ Rugby.



Whangarei District Council owns this website and the information, images and photographs in it are subject to copyright. No portion may be copied or republished without prior permission of Whangarei District Council. We have made every reasonable effort to provide accurate and reliable information. The use of any information is at the website visitor’s own risk and discretion.