Community Safety and Support
Sign In

Civic Honours Award

Image for the Civic Honours Award page.
This page contains information about Council's Civic Honours Award.
Updated: 16/04/2018 10:52 a.m.


Civic Honours Awards

A Civic Honour is the highest award that Whangarei District Council bestows upon its citizens.

Every year Whangarei District Council honours up to four citizens for outstanding voluntary service with the Civic Honours Awards.

Civic Honours Awards give recognition to those citizens, who by their personal leadership, inspiration, sacrifice or devotion to a cause, have made a significant contribution to the community wellbeing of the Whangarei District.

The usual maximum number of recipients in any one year is four.

Making a nomination

Nominations for the annual Civic Honours awards close 1 May each year. The awards evening is held each August and recipients are announced following this.

To make a nomination, please read the guide and complete the nomination form below. 

Deadline extended to 4pm, 18 May 2018. 

Civic Honours Nomination Form and Guidelines (318kb)

A Word document version of the form is available - email

Previous Civic Honours Awards

Details of the recipients' citations from previous years can be viewed by following the links in the right-hand navigation bar.

More information

For more information about Civic Honours Awards contact Whangarei District Council’s Community Funding Officer on +64 9 430 4200 or email


Whangarei District Council owns this website and the information, images and photographs in it are subject to copyright. No portion may be copied or republished without prior permission of Whangarei District Council. We have made every reasonable effort to provide accurate and reliable information. The use of any information is at the website visitor’s own risk and discretion.